Walking and no talking

Standard

Mmmmmmmmmh, last night I was sitting at the computer in my Sport Relief all in onesie, listening to the rain pouring down outside whilst Big Welsh watched the Tour of Dubai on telly.  That’s not my normal Thursday evening and today isn’t going to be a normal Friday.

As you may well be aware today is the Reading to Oxford leg of the Team Honk Relay.  If you’re not aware then I will tell you!

TODAY – Friday 7 February 2013 is the Reading to Oxford leg of the Team Honk Relay. 

It all began back in 2013 when three bloggers Tanya, Penny and Annie got together and started fundraising for Comic Relief, they accompanied Comic Relief on their Ghana trip sharing their blogs and tweets with everyone.  This year they came up with the Team Honk Relay, where the baton travels from one end of the country to the other by various means.  Various, many various!

Wahhhhhhhah!  Later on today?  Well, yes!!  I’m doing the Shiplake to Henley leg, by foot but with a twist.  A silent twist.  I’m not entirely sure what the word silent means but it seemed a good idea at the time and it’s a bit of challenge so I’m going to do 4 hours of total silence.  Yes, total silence!  No texting, tweeting, talking, facebooking, instagramming, pinteresting, in fact the only ING I am allowed to do is breathing and walking.  I might do some nodding and giggling, but it will be silent giggling.

The day will start with a nice cup of tea or coffee, haven’t decided yet!  Then at 745am I will be chatting to Andrew Peach on BBC Radio Berkshire about the Team Honk Relay, silence and clingfilm.  At 8am I will be starting my 4 hour silence – how bonkers is that?  I’ve got 3 children and school run to negotiate, I’ve got something to say about most things, I burst into song at the drop of a hat, I talk to the dog, I talk to myself!  I’ve had so much support …. well if support is measured in laughter I’ve had loads!!

I’m then picking up Niki and hurtling over to Shiplake College to meet the rest of the walkers and talkers (Amanda, Melissa, Susanna and Alice), meeting Vanessa at The Angel on the Bridge and hand the baton over. Vanessa is running to Bix, where she will hand over to Polly who will cycle with Carrie, Anna and Haj to Dorchester.  At 3pm they will hand the baton to Kate who will cycle with Haj and the baton to Notcutts Roundabout, Haj will then cycle the baton to Oxford.

As I am being silent Amanda Jennings has very kindly said she will be tweeting.  It will be an interesting 4 hours.  I’m really looking forward to it – and so will everyone else!

If you’d like to sponsor us then here’s the link http://my.sportrelief.com/sponsor/readingteamhonk

 

 

The first ever Sainsbury’s Sport Relief Games take place from Friday 21st to Sunday 23rd March 2014. The public can join the fun and games by running, swimming or cycling their way to raising cash at over a thousand venues around the country, including the landmark events at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

As one of the biggest fundraising events, Sport Relief brings the entire nation together to get active raise cash and change lives. The money raised by the public is spent by Comic Relief to help transform the lives of some of the poorest and most disadvantaged people both at home in the UK and across the world.

6 responses »

  1. And no rain fell form the sky – result! Thanks ever so much for getting involved. I hope the day went well for you – I’ve been glued to the photos and twitter feed all day!
    The money made makes a huge difference so once again – thank you x

Leave a Reply

